top of page

The community of Dayton, Indiana has been served by firefighters since 1898. The Sheffield Volunteer Fire Department has 30 volunteer members covering Sheffield Township, the southern half of Perry Township, and the Town of Dayton. The department covers 54 square miles, including 10 miles of Interstate 65. The department also provides mutual aid assistance to departments in Tippecanoe, Clinton, Carroll and Montgomery Counties as needed.

The Sheffield Volunteer Fire Department's mission is to protect lives, property and the environment in Sheffield Township. This is achieved by extinguishing and investigating fires, enforcing fire codes, presenting life-safety education programs, rescuing person in danger, controlling hazardous materials incidents, mitigating the effects of natural disasters, and providing first responder service to people experiencing potential life-threatening medical emergencies. We will accomplish our mission by subscribing to the below values.

The Sheffield Township Fire Department is committed and responsive to Dayton's needs by providing professional services for all emergency response and community needs.  The members live by the motto of "Courage to Act, Desire to Serve, Ability to Perform."

This beauty is expected to join the STFD fleet in March 2020.

bottom of page