Utilities and Your Dollars

Dayton residents pay for combined services on their monthly utility bill. The services provided for the monthly payments are:

  • Water

  • Wastewater

  • Storm Water

  • Garbage Collection

  • Recycle Collection

The minimum billing is approximately $80.

A little history is useful. In 1978, the Town of Dayton elected to provided wastewater to every residence through an inter-local agreement with the Lafayette Waterworks, an agency of the City of Lafayette. Twenty years later, in 1998, the Town of Dayton elected to expand the agreement with Lafayette to include water services. The agreement was needed, as more than half of the wells were pumping only discolored water for months. A few residents have maintained their wells for outside watering. All residences in Dayton are required to pay monthly fees for the five services listed.

Today, the modern system is maintained by a full-time employee who maintains pumping stations and hundreds of water meters. 

In addition to utilities provided by the Town of Dayton, residents will need electric service. Some will also need gas service.

Duke Energy Corporation is one of the largest electric power holding companies in the United States, providing electricity to 7.6 million retail customers in six states. Duke Energy has approximately 49,500 megawatts of electric generating capacity in the Carolinas, the Midwest and Florida.

Vectren Corporation is an energy holding company headquartered in Evansville, Indiana. Vectren's energy delivery subsidies provide gas and/or electricity to more than 1 million customers in adjoining service territories that cover nearly two-thirds of Indiana and about 20 percent of Ohio, primarily in the west-central area. Vectren Energy Delivery of Indiana North provides natural gas service to 587,000 customers in a 48-county region.

© 2019 Town of Dayton, Indiana.